SOCIAL NETWORKS With "Manage Activity", any message deemed undesirable by its author can be permanently deleted or archived.
Facebook announced on Tuesday the arrival of a feature that allows users to remove messages from their social network page permanently or not. Called "Manage Activity", the feature is designed to "make it easier to present your presence on Facebook, which reflects more of who you are today," the company said in a statement on its website.
Publications that have become undesirable can thus be deleted. They will then remain in the trash for 30 days before being deleted forever, giving users the opportunity to change their minds. It is also possible to archive posts, i.e. to make them invisible on the wall but still keep them. These posts can be accessed and viewed at any time by the user who has chosen to save them.
Delete several posts with a single click"Manage Activity" will first be available on the iOS and Android versions of the Facebook Lite and Facebook apps. The functionality will then appear on the social network's web version.
In order to help users find and select the publications they want to get rid of, Facebook has created tools available within the feature. For example, the feature allows users to search for posts containing specific keywords or to select multiple posts that can be deleted or archived with a single click.
"Whether you're entering the workforce after graduation or moving on from a previous relationship, we know that people's lives are full of change," Facebook said of the feature that many users have been asking for.