On WhatsApp, you can send messages that disappear by themselves. All you have to do is turn on disappearing messages. Once the setting is active, new
WhatsApp has been testing a feature that automatically deletes chat messages for months. Now, for the first time, WhatsApp is providing a comprehensive explanation of how it works and how to use it.
This involves messages that are read by the recipient and then disappear again by themselves. Similar options are already available in some very popular messenger services. However, the function has still not been started, but it shouldn't be too long to be available.
WhatsApp tells more about this feature
The WhatsApp support website now provides more details about the feature for the first time. The service explains what happens, for example, to messages that have received an expiration date but are not opened and read by the recipient. It also explains how messages behave if the recipient regularly backs up his chats.
The background to this is already very interesting. Now we are actually just waiting for the release of the feature. WhatsApp provides information about the so-called " disappearing messages " as follows:
"On WhatsApp, you can send messages that disappear by themselves. All you have to do is turn on disappearing messages. Once the setting is active, new messages will disappear from the chat after 7 days. The last selection applies to all new messages in the chat. Messages that were received or sent before are not affected. In a chat any user can switch on or off disappearing messages. In a group chat only group admins can do this.".
- If a user does not open WhatsApp for 7 days, the message automatically disappears. However, he may still see the preview of the message in the notifications until he opens WhatsApp.
- When you reply to a message, the previously sent message is quoted. If you reply to an expiring message, the quoted text may still be in the chat after 7 days.
- When an disappearing messages is forwarded to a chat where disappearing messages are disabled, the message does not disappear.
- If a user creates a backup before the message disappears, it will be saved there. However, it disappears when he restores the backup.